Of Love and Lust, and the Synonyms In-between: Notes


I have come to see that there’s close relations between many of the feelings we so pointedly distinguish in theory. It is not so in real life. Like we will point-blankly categorize feelings in books as either of two things—or three: if it not Love, it is Lust then. Or we include a third… Infatuation; as though human feelings are not just more complex.

I understand this is true conceptually and when I discuss with a younger folk, say an adolescent, I use this analogy to be just understandable. But sometimes, feelings are even more complex and intertwined and many times even misleading to the theoretic definer and categorizer.

II

I like a particular poem I pen while on campus as an undergraduate student. It is too simple and plain to have been any way near a favourite for me, but regardless it’s composition inspiration that comes from the idea of trying to place feelings for someone around shades of definitions is what makes me find it particularly interesting. Permit me to share below.

Life people stuff with many concepts
with many definitions
with many explanations
Love people give many different contexts
with many dimensions
but with many questions
But even when my mind doesn’t get
their love classifying and complexity, my dear
I still know one thing for certain!
I still know one thing for certain!

Oh I may not know which is which
I may not know what’s what
I may not know the who’s who—
But I am sure I know you!

I may not know how
I may not know why
I may not know what
But I know I love you!
I know for sure I love you!

(“I may not know…”, Softlie, p. 21)

Conceptualizations of feelings. Definitions and Explications. Concepts on Contexts. Lexicons and Semantics. Many words, abd the shades of meanings in between.

Love… Infatuation… Lust.

Or else… Liking. Being fond of. Affection. Admiration. Adoring. Doting on. Attraction. Feelings for. Crush on. Desire. Longing. Madly in love with. Obsession. Lovesickness. Lovelorn… and the many other shades in between, still….

III

This I think I have learned through time, that there are many forms of this feelings we’ll categorize broadly as “Love” and as endless varities of feelings as human personalities themselves are. I talk of the feelings Love, mind you, and not the concept oe the conception. The broad category of the feelings then I know may, can and does sometimes also incorporate any more of the following shades of the emotion in it: Affection, Liking, Attraction (also called sexual attraction), Admiration, Adoring, Desire (also called sexual desire or in Greek lexicon, Eros), Feelings for someone, Obsession (as in lovelorn cases, and is mostly unhealthy) and on, and on.

For instance, Mr. A could just joke with his girl and say something like: “You know what? I love you so much I’m kinda restraining myself just now! You know something? You’re so cute it’s so hard babe!” It simply meant he feels desire, raw desire and at times intense, even when he’s sure what he feels for his personal person is love, deep love. True love feels that. Even feels naughty; could perchance think naughty, dare naughty… is human enough to admit feelings.

But then, Mr A’s reactions and the limits he gives to the feeling when he and his girl may have decided to both keep it clean till marital vows are exchanged and rites paid, is what distinguish whether he lets his feelings rule him all out or not, or he lets love go probably unpredictably hurtful to both in time. The example case that comes to mind is the very dramatic scenerio of Shechem who was both “attracted to and loved Dinah” in the Israeli chronicles recorded in the Bible, but yet defiled her because he just could not control his deep urges. The first time I read the story from the Bible I was both captivated and thoroughly moved. It’s worth reading all through, start up and you’ll find a very intriguing prototype to modern day youthful eruptions under we face. Go right on through—it’s Genesis Chapter 34. I hope your reading, are you?

IV

So then, Love as a feeling borrows from all. A poet colleague once wrote a fascinating line in a poem: “love is incestuous… plagiarist”, expressing poetically this idea of the love concept drawing around itself and everyone owning know right to love. “Every one according to the school of love is a plagiarist,” was his conclusion.

So also, then, I see that even having liking for a person of the opposite sex it could of course involve—and many times does—attraction, sexual attraction. Have you noticed? It is as normal and natural as you would find an older and responsible moral man (married even) just taking plain interest in and liking towards a younger lady, say far younger, because she is just beautiful and he just likes her—no plans intended. And he if not profane will guard his feelings against the thought of doing anything silly with her. That is the difference between when we feel and sincerely acknowledge our feelings and when we gratify every single one of them, both ignoble and noble alike.

I liked a girl sometimes ago. Just liked her for the sake of it, and even when she is not my personal person and I didn’t intend to make her at all. That was when I wrote this note as a thinker and a critic of my feelings.

I liked a girl sometimes ago. And I let her know. And I made it end there. And all is happy.

• • •

Kayode Taiwo Olla

3 thoughts on “Of Love and Lust, and the Synonyms In-between: Notes”

  1. Wow, beautiful piece. Thoughtful I may say.

    Then, let me just add this, the best way to tame feelings and direct it towards the right direction and expression is through acquiring sane knowledge.

    For example, in this part of the world, it is incest to express erotic feelings towards your siblings. Our cultural information or knowledge has to so extent deadened such possible feelings from arising.

    I love this bro. Keep it up.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

